Combating Writer’s Block

Today I have been experiencing extreme writer’s block. So many words and ideas in my head but I cannot articulate them into written sentences.

This reminded me of many months ago when I direct messaged Stephen Fry on Twitter, asking him how he combats writer’s block. To my amazement he replied and I want to share his answer with you, just in case you find yourself suffering from it too.

He answered:

I combat WB by writing a diary, just a stream of words in which I talk to myself about how I can’t write. Primes the pump.

There we have it. A simple approach and one that will hopefully help me when I get back to the writing later this evening.

If you have alternative solutions, then please feel free to share your tips in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

